A Red Letter Day – Worldwide Half Life 2 Record Attempt

/ 5 years ago

‘A Red Letter Day’ is a worldwide event that is being held on February 4th at 11AM PST. As a community, we will be playing the game Half-Life 2 as a fun and involving way to draw attention to the series. Over 40,000 members from the Steam group “A Call for Communication” and any other Half-Life fans are invited and encouraged to play.

A fan campaign designed to encourage more Half-Life information from developer Valve plans a mass gameplay session this Saturday.

Steam group A Call for Communication (Half-Life), which boasts more than than 45,000 members, has organised a huge Half-Life 2 play session this weekend, designed to raise awareness of its campaign by boosting the game up Steam’s most-played list.

The fan collective aims to encourage information from Valve on when the Half-Life series might return, be that in the form of Half-Life 2: Episode 3 or a fully-fledged Half-Life 3.

Group numbers have swelled from 10,000 members since the campaign first hit the headlines two weeks ago.

A Call for Communication’s Half-Life 2 play session begins at 7pm UK time this Saturday night.

“Instead of focusing efforts in a negative and disrespectful way, we have decided to gain Valve’s attention by delivering a basic message: ‘Your oldest and longest running fanbase would like better communication,'” the Steam group’s description reads.

“Hopefully such attention will be recognized by Valve, and the community’s voice will be heard.”

Worldwide Times are as follows:

  • Saturday, February 4th 2012
  • Seattle (GMT-8): 11:00AM
  • New York (GMT-5): 2:00PM
  • London (GMT): 7:00PM
  • Berlin (GMT+1): 8:00PM
  • Moscow (GMT+4): 11:00PM
  • Hong Kong (GMT+8): 3:00AM (Sunday)
  • Sydney (GMT+11): 6:00AM (Sunday)

Prepare for unforeseen consequences.

Sources: Messagetovalve Eurogamer