California Bans Retailers Fining Customers for Bad Reviews
Chris Smith / 3 years ago
The head honcho’s in California decided to move on this worrying action, and thus, they’ve passed a law which prevents online retailers charging fines for negative reviews left about their services.
Thanks to CNet, we learned about the law in full:
“Signed into law by Gov. Jerry Brown on Tuesday, AB 2365 outlaws so-called “non-disparagement clauses” from contracts that require customers waive their right to express a negative opinion the service they received. Businesses violating the new law face fines of $2,500 for the first violation and $5,000 for each subsequent violation. An additional fine of $10,000 will be imposed on violations deemed willful, intentional, or reckless.”
In an even more relevant case, this law was said to be brought upon thanks to a Utah couple whom were left with a bad credit rating after being billed $3,500 for leaving a negative review about their retailer, as claimed by the bill’s sponsor – Assemblyman John A. Pérez.
In total, this law seems like a fairly logical progression for freedom of (online) speech and something that should quite possibly be widespread. Have you ever been billed for saying something negative online by a service or product provider? Let us know and we may cover it.
Image courtesy of Flickreviver