Facebook Increases Account Closure Time To 30 Days



/ 2 months ago

Algorithms

Facebook Increases Account Closure Time To 30 Days

Facebook has seen more than a few scandals since the start of the year. It seems clear that for many years the social media site was rather lax in both its security and the way it treated our data. As such, many users have simply decided to quit the social media site. It sounds crazy, but when you actually consider this, it’s quite a bold move.

While Facebook has decided to make things easier by allowing you an account closure which provides you with all your files as a download, it seems that they are rather keen to give you a little more time to reconsider your decision.

Time Extended!

Initially, when you made the decision to leave Facebook, the social media site gave you a 14-day period for you to change your mind. Seems fair enough. Most people would only need 2 weeks to decide whether they really needed the site in their lives or not. In a report via The Star though, Facebook has now decided to extend this deadline to 30 days!

Changed Your Mind?

In terms of the process, nothing has changed except the amount of time before Facebook finally shuts your account down. If in the meantime, you do change your mind, all that’s required for you to do is log into the account. You will be prompted asking if you want to cancel the closure and if so, your account will be restored.

Some will see this as a shifting of the goalposts. Others will simply view it as a much more logical time span. Either way though, if you want out of Facebook, you have to give your months notice!

What do you think? – Let us know in the comments!

facebook

Topics: , , , ,

Support eTeknix.com

By supporting eTeknix, you help us grow. And continue to bring you the latest news, reviews, and competitions. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep up with the latest technology. Share your favourite articles, chat with the team and more. Also check out eTeknix YouTube, where you'll find our latest video reviews, event coverage and features in 4K!
eTeknix FacebookeTeknix TwittereTeknix Instagram

Check out our Latest Video

Comments

One Response to “Facebook Increases Account Closure Time To 30 Days”
  1. Anton says:

    On the one hand I want to say what’s the big deal? If you want to close your account then close it and just wait the 30 days.

    But on the other hand I know how difficult it is to quit social media, and that perhaps it’d be easier for us to give up Facebook if we could just delete our accounts instantly (in a moment of mental clarity, you might say) and then be forced to live without our FB account. Most people will more than likely give in and log back in within those 30 days, which I’m sure we all know is exactly why they make you wait 30 days before its really deleted.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

  • Be Social with eTeknix

  • Poll

    AMD or Intel?

    View Results