Facebook’s New ‘Dislike’ Function Isn’t What You Think

/ 5 years ago


Announced last month, Facebook’s new ‘dislike’ button has finally been unveiled, and it’s not as we expected it. Instead of a simple ‘thumbs down’ – a reverse of the familiar ‘like’ button, which founder Mark Zuckerberg feared would be open to abuse – Facebook will be providing users the ability to express their emotions in relation to posts through a series of emojis.

facebook emojis

Rolling out tomorrow in Spain and the Republic of Ireland, Facebook Reactions aims to encourage greater engagement and “empathy” with user posts though the six emojis: ‘Love’, ‘Haha’, ‘Yay’, ‘Wow’, ‘Sad’, and ‘Angry’.

“People come to Facebook to share all kinds of things —  whether that’s updates that are happy, sad, funny or thought-provoking,” a Facebook spokesperson said. “And we’ve heard you’d like more ways to celebrate, commiserate or laugh together. That’s why we are testing Reactions, an extension of the Like button, to give you more ways to share your reaction to a Facebook post in a quick and easy way.”

While Facebook has not set a timeframe for the worldwide launch of Facebook Reactions, it is expected to slowly roll out to other countries over the course of this year.

Thank you VentureBeat for providing us with this information.

Topics: ,

Support eTeknix.com

By supporting eTeknix, you help us grow and continue to bring you the latest newsreviews, and competitions. Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram to keep up with the latest technology news, reviews and more. Share your favourite articles, chat with the team and more. Also check out eTeknix YouTube, where you'll find our latest video reviews, event coverage and features in 4K!

Looking for more exciting features on the latest technology? Check out our What We Know So Far section or our Fun Reads for some interesting original features.

eTeknix Facebook eTeknix Twitter eTeknix Instagram eTeknix Instagram

Check out our Latest Video

  • Be Social With eTeknix

    Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Reddit RSS
  • Latest Video

  • Features

  • Poll

    AMD or Intel?

    View Results

  • Archives

Send this to a friend