Categories: News

Skyrim: Special Edition Release Time and Upgrade Eligibility Revealed

The time to dust off your Steam library and dig up Skyrim is coming, and it’s coming very soon! The Special Edition HD remaster of the modern Bethesda classic is set to be released and will be on offer to PC gamers as a free update on Steam for those who already own the game. However, there are a few terms and conditions that have to be fulfilled before October 28th.

If you own Skyrim, as well as the Dawnguard, Hearthfire and, Dragonborn DLC, before the 28th then you’ll get your free copy of the upgrade on the release date. That mean’s you’ll have had to already purchase them separately, with a season pass, or as part of the Legendary Edition. You can purchase them between now and the 28th and still be eligible for a free upgrade. If you don’t have the DLC, you don’t get the upgrade, it’s as simple as that.

The game will see a global release from 12am UTC on Friday October 28th, with the following region specific unlock times.

  • 5pm Pacific Time (October 27)
  • 8pm Eastern Time (October 27)
  • 1am British Summer Time (October 28)
  • 2am Central European Summer Time (October 28)
  • 11am Australian Eastern Time Zone (October 28)
  • 1pm New Zealand Time (October 28th)
Peter Donnell

As a child still in my 30's, I spend my day combining my love of music and movies with a life-long passion for gaming, from arcade classics and retro consoles to the latest high-end PC and console games. So it's no wonder I write about tech and test the latest hardware while I enjoy my hobbies!

Disqus Comments Loading...

Recent Posts

COUGAR DarkBlader X7 Midnight Green Case Review

Cougar continues to go from strength to strength with its fantastic range of PC cases.…

15 hours ago

The PS5 is (Somehow) Sony’s Officially Fastest-Selling Console Ever

The PS5 has been in absolutely huge demand ever since it was released late last…

18 hours ago

Nintendo Decides to Pull the Plug on Dr Mario World

I must confess that Dr Mario is quite possibly one of my most favourite games…

18 hours ago

Facebook Temporarily Halt Sales of Oculus Quest 2

The Oculus Quest 2 has proven to be an exceptionally popular gateway into the world…

18 hours ago

Get Game Ready for Chernobylite With Radeon Adrenalin 21.7.2

AMD graphics card owners, given that it's another fresh day, you're probably not too surprised…

18 hours ago

Intel Alder Lake-S to Only See A Limited Launch This Year?

Although we are still pending categorical confirmation, it seems pretty likely that Intel will formally,…

18 hours ago