News

Windows Reset Bug Found – ‘Remove Everything’ Might Not Remove Everything!

As one of the key features of the more modern Windows platforms, as part of the integrated ‘reset’ functionality, you are generally given the option as to whether you want to simply refresh the operating system or whether you want to wipe the entire metaphorical slate clean by removing the data located on one or all of the storage devices. – The decision you make in this regard, of course, generally tends to boil down to exactly what you’re looking to achieve. Presuming you are doing this in order to either dispose or give the PC/laptop away, however, the latter is clearly the one you’d probably pick. I mean, I hope it’s the one you’d choose!

It seems, however, that following a report via PCWorld, choosing the option to ‘remove everything’ may not actually remove everything. – What’s the problem though? Surely such a straightforward option can’t get any more complicated than that, right? – Well, it’s, unfortunately, another one of those little bugs that have just been discovered and it seems that the oft annoying ‘OneDrive‘ application is, once again, found to be the culprit!

Windows 10/11 ‘One Drive’ Bug Sees Data (Sometimes) Retained!

Following a new support document issued by Microsoft, they have confirmed the discovery of a new glitch that results in the ‘remove everything’ reset feature often not deleting files contained within a particular system. Namely, any documents retained or stored on ‘OneDrive’ may not necessarily be removed from local storage during this process. This is even if a ‘total wipe’ solution is chosen in the reset menu.

Although a fix is on the way (albeit, Microsoft doesn’t appear to be in any huge rush over this one), they have advised users that if they do utilise the ‘OneDrive’ storage and intend to conduct a total system reset, including the removal/wiping of data, immediately prior to initiating this the owner should sign out of ‘OneDrive’ or unlink their account before proceeding. – This will (apparently) ensure that any data is protected as part of that service is ‘unlocked’ meaning that, all going well, it will be removed as part of the selected reset process.

Now, admittedly, OneDrive (for me at least) is more of a mildly annoying inconvenience on Windows than something I actually use. For people who do tend to skip between different systems, however, it does undoubtedly have its helpful qualities. If you do, therefore, regularly make use of ‘OneDrive’ you might want to bear this little bug in mind before you decide to retire any of your Windows 10/11 laptops or PC systems because, if this is anything to go by, it would appear that ‘remove everything’ should have an asterisk placed next to it!

What do you think? – Let us know in the comments!

Mike Sanders

Disqus Comments Loading...

Recent Posts

SSD Prices Expected to Drop Next Quarter!

Once upon a time, one of the best ways to quickly improve system performance was…

24 hours ago

Epic Games Store Update Adds New Game Rating & Poll Feature

The Epic Games Store still has an exceptionally long way to go before it'll win…

24 hours ago

SteelSeries Unveil its New Apex Pro Mini Gaming Keyboards

Having a good quality keyboard can often be the deciding factor between success and failure…

24 hours ago

NZXT Unveil its High-performance ‘Thermal Paste’

NZXT is not one of the first names that would trip off my tongue if…

24 hours ago

Nvidia GeForce RTX 4090/4080/4070 Specs(?) Leak Online

With Nvidia's next-generation of graphics cards set to make their debut within the next few…

24 hours ago

Intel’s Arc A380 Performs Notably Worse With AMD Processors?

With the Intel Arc A380 graphics card breaking its review embargo in China, we've already…

24 hours ago